Turmeric and spice and everything nice

You eat with your eyes first!

You eat with your eyes first

I avoid boring at all costs, at all times, including (especially!) breakfast. Wouldn’t eating something bland upon arising set a mundane, routine tone for the day? But interesting doesn’t always translate to complex, and certainly not to time-demanding. After all, I run around in the mornings in a half-slumber just like everyone else. So what I have learned to rely on are spices, and I take advantage of the row of North African shops on 18th street for the best.

These days, especially the days when my fruit basket is looking lonely, I just dollop some yogurt into a pretty bowl (Fage or, when my wallet is feeling light, Stonyfield Whole Milk), crush with my fingers four or five walnuts and plop them down with a handful of raisins, quarter-dollar a nice ripe banana, and then sprinkle on top some turmeric, cumin, cinnamon, and black pepper.  My taste buds deserve a proper awakening, and this combination is like coffee to them. The turmeric builds on the tang of the yogurt, the cumin adds a sweet earthiness, and the cinnamon is warming and aromatic. The black pepper I simply add because nutritional studies have shown that one of it’s natural chemicals, piperine, seems to improve the bioavailability of turmeric.  Why should I care about the bioavailability of turmeric, you ask? Well, it happens to be an extremely powerful anti-inflammatory as well as an antioxidant super-container. Plus, it swirls my yogurt with its golden yellow and makes my first meal of the day exotic and very pretty.

Take a leisurely saunter down 18th street in Adams Morgan to find spices and other treasures.

Happy Friday everyone! Court

Leave a Reply

